Posted by: macstevejb | February 7, 2010

Running LXDE in Ubuntu 9.10 (Karmic)

So I decided to try LXDE on my netbook to compare performance/speed with the bog-standard Ubuntu Gnome desktop that I already have running on it.

It’s simple to install, just open a terminal and run:

sudo apt-get install lxde

then logout and select LXDE from the sessions tab in the login screen.

Your system will then boot into LXDE.

After a little tweaking my desktop looks like this:

LXDE is a GPL licensed open source desktop environment and stands for “Lightweight X11 Desktop Environment”. It’s based on Openbox, built in the c programming language and uses the GTK+ toolkit. Because its components are not tightly integrated, they are able to run independently of each other. This enables a window environment which is fast and snappy, where resource usage, both CPU and RAM is surprising low, achieving a similarly low disk usage footprint.

As such, this is an ideal window manager to use in conjunction with a netbook and I have noticed a quite considerable performance improvement.

It is highly configurable with various appearance tweaks, accessible via the appearance and Openbox configuration manager in the preferences menu.Various panel applets/plugins are integrated to enhance the experience, ranging from temperature and cpu usage monitors to volume control and bateery monitors.

I must say that I am very impressed so far and plan to adopt LXDE as the default window manager for my Netbook.

Responses

  1. I like this blog..Very useful.

  2. I’m writing to my reps to oppose this legislation. What are we supposed to do with the 50,000 or so horses that are presently shipped off to Canada and Mexico for slaughter should this ban be enacted? Why should my tax dollars be used to feed and care for unwanted horses when there are already humans in my city (and neigborhood) who do not have food or housing? Come on http://tropaadet.dk/deidraleblanc59001081845


Leave a Reply

Categories

